Making up with Cambodia

Man I was wound up tight. Funny (scary) how one (I) can be in that kind of place and not even realize it. But I was. I admit it. There you go. I had my fill of urban. Walking down the beach today I made up with Cambodia.

Day two, call it three? at Otres Beach and I can understand why people stay a month, more. I can breathe again. The girls were right. We do have everything we need right here. One of the greatest blessings of this Odyssey is the realization that the four of us, together, can call anywhere HOME. Its also given me an appreciation for the value of open space, fresh air, the healing powers of natural world. As we continue to modernize, digitize, industrialize we must take this to heart if we expect full hearts in our humanity. Thank God I live in Truckee.

Sitting at sunset next to Andy, both of us writing our own words, reflecting. Mini “boom box” playing acquired tunes whi) have become the Odyssey soundtrack. Girls are playing/dancingin the sand at our feet. Keira and I were talking just this morning about the power of music to transport you. We were sitting in Footprints cafe eating fried eggs and fruit and listening to David Gray and she says “mommy, are those tears in your eyes?” Of course the answer was yes. David Gray, people. He takes me home, to my kitchen with my dog asleep at my feet until the zucchini drops to the floor. Cooking dinner for the family. I miss that. I miss Strider. Sniff. But here’s a snapshot into the source of sanity we’ve found among the chaos that can be Cambodia.

photo 5.JPG
A love of hammocks

photo 4.JPG
photo 3.JPG
En autre Otres sunset

photo 1.JPG
Evening at Shangri La

photo 5.JPG
To be back in the ocean…

photo 3.JPG
Our humble beach shack. The hanging flowers make it feel like home.

photo 1.JPG
View of footprints, our local hangout.

